I had to go for a walk in my ‘hood and describe the things I saw. I plan to suck a lot with this whole writing thing… but you know, to become good… you have to suck suck suck.

++++

Today was such an awesome day.  The sun was still bright when I got home from work, so I slipped on my converse sneakers and stepped outside. I saw my neighbors. I waved hello. They were busy cleaning up their yard preparing for warmer weather. They have been retired for many years, and spend their days gardening and golfing. It’s the first I’ve seen them in months. Ah, snow birds. I imagine their winter home is equally charming.

The  warmth radiating from the sun was no match for the sharp almost-spring chill in the air. The only cars I saw sat idle along the side of the road for as far as I could see. People were milling about, smoking cigarettes, talking on phones, taking out trash or talking to their neighbors. I smiled at a weary woman in bright pink scrubs. She was carrying a box of pizza into her house. A rubber band held her mousey brown hair tightly. A slender almost-man with a crew-cut  jogged by. I didn’t wave  because he was looking down at his heart rate monitor and seemed extremely focused in his bubble.

The neighborhood golf course was beginning to look more vibrant with scattered patches of healthy grass. 

It was difficult to hear the kids giggling and screaming as they raced up and down the road on their scooters, thanks to  rush hour in the air highway over our heads.

Weathered privacy fences guard a majority of the old bungalows on this road.
The salty air and coastal sun tend to make everything look so much older than it is. 

The road leads straight to the locals beach, but I was stopped by a bright orange sign that read, “road closed”. Ah, construction.

I turned around and walked home.

