I’ve always wanted to be a writer.

I was extremely vocal about this as a child. However, as I grew older, I became more practical and all the traces of my dreams were kept securely locked away in my heart. This change in my mind produced a successful Accountant and an unfilfilled mind.

When I was young, I made up stories about my barbies and recorded these stories verbally to a tape recorded I had received for christmas.

When I was a teenager, I wrote short stories and submitted them to magazines such as Seventeen. I also shared stories with my teachers, and loved all the feedback I received. I also wrote poetry to relieve teen angst and kept everything in a beautifully illustrated journal. I still have it today, even though the binding is torn to shreds and the cover hangs on with strings.

I started a novel when I was 18. It was a fantasy novel which involved several extremely developed characters. I still have the many binders I used for character mapping, timeline mapping, and world creation. I even drew pictures of the characters so I would have a better visualization of what I wanted to create. It was amazing. I never finished the novel, for some reason. I tried to get back to it about a decade later, and realized my mind was not the same, and I could not hold interest in the project.

I moved on to a different kind of novel all together. Again, I started mapping characters, collecting research materials, and creating timelines. I got stuck during plot development and put the project aside.

Through the years, I have had ideas hand over fist of novels I want to write. I always make note of the ideas in a “writing” folder on my laptop.

This past year, I decided to start taking writing classes. I finished one for beginners. This Wednesday, I am starting another called Descriptive Writing. I am extremely excited about this class, because I believe my downfall in the process is one of the most important things in writing. The Details.

I plan to document the course here, so I can review my progress over time. I have no plans to become published. If it happens, awesome. If it doesn’t, well… I never expected it anyway. All I want to do is express myself creatively. I want to call myself a writer. I want to write.

